Iowa Department of Public Safety Public Information Bureau

DPS Main Page

Annual Report

Contact Us

Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

Press Releases

Press Release Archives

Recognition Awards



Incident must have occurred between January 1 of the previous year and April 1 of the current year. All nominations must be received by April 15 of the current year. However, other incidents not occurring within this time period may be eligible for an Outstanding Service Award.



Nominee should not be professionally trained in lifesaving techniques. Examples: firefighters, law enforcement officers, doctors, nurses, lifeguards, water safety directors, or first aid instructors (unless they are retired from those positions).



An individual is not eligible if the life saved is that of his/her immediate family, as well as parents, grandparents, and children, but may be eligible for the Governor’s Outstanding Award.



Must have occured within Iowa.



| Eligibility | Nominating | Procedures |

Click here to sign up for email notifications
Created: 02-07-2006
Last Updated: