Iowa Department of Public Safety Public Information Bureau

DPS Main Page

Annual Report

Contact Us

Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

Press Releases

Press Release Archives

Recognition Awards



The Governor's Lifesaving Awards Program was implemented in the 1970's to recognize Iowans who have performed a courageous act in an attempt to save someone's life or to those that have unselfishly assisted in an emergency situation.

The Governor's Lifesaving Awards & Outstanding Service Awards Will Be Presented at the Susan Knapp Amphitheater of the Iowa State Fair

2018 Awards:

Thursday, August 9, 2018, at 10:00 AM
Susan Knapp Amphitheater at the Iowa State Fair


Randy Faux - Dallas Center, Iowa
Chad Reynolds - Vail, Iowa


Coral Franklin - Arnolds Park, Iowa
Cory Johnson - Cedar Falls, Iowa
Arturo Melendez - Linn County, Iowa
Jack Wasson - Dickens, Iowa


Jeffrey Friedlein - Clayton County, Iowa

There are four types of awards within the Governor's Lifesaving Award Program:

  • Lifesaving with Valor - Awarded to those individuals who at the risk of their own life, attempted to save that of another individual.
  • Lifesaving - Awarded to those individuals who have attempted to save the life of another individual, but did not put their own life in jeopardy during the rescue.
  • Meritorious - Awarded to those individuals in recognition of courageous and unselfish service rendered during a time of distress.
  • Outstanding - presented to persons who have performed a courageous act in an attempt to save an individual who was in danger of losing his or her life or to individuals who unselfishly rendered service in a time of emergency.

To view a synopsis of the type of award and each person's heroic actions for 2018, please visit this page: 2018 Lifesaving Award Honorees.

| Eligibility | Nominating | Procedures |

| 2018 Honorees |

| 2017 Honorees | 2016 Honorees | 2015 Honorees |

| 2014 Honorees | 2013 Honorees | 2012 Honorees |

Click here to sign up for email notifications