Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319


For immediate release: Alex Murphy
  Public Information Officer
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Friday, April 13, 2012
(515) 443-3014 - cell
(515) 725-6189 - office

Traffic Safety Efforts Recognized During Annual Conference

Sioux City, Iowa --- Traffic safety professionals convened April 10th and 11th at the Sioux City Convention Center to discuss issues and programs during the annual Governor’s Highway Traffic Safety Conference.  Nearly 200 people were on hand to hear national and local speakers on topics including rural roadway safety, distracted driving, data-driven approaches to traffic safety, social media and law enforcement, search and seizure updates, and alcohol issues on college campuses.

During the event, outstanding traffic safety efforts were recognized through awards presented by Iowa’s Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds and Iowa Department of Public Safety Commissioner Larry Noble.  Commissioner’s Special Awards for Traffic Safety were presented to the following:

  • Jesse Gildea, Blank Children’s Hospital
  • Officer John Barney, Ames Police Department
  • Officer Amber Rozeboom, Ames Police Department
  • Officer Brandon Dyer, Ankeny Police Department
  • Officer Jeff Harstad, Sioux City Police Department
  • Ben Ihde, Des Moines Police Department
  • Officer Mark Kjormoe, Marion Police Department
  • Nick Albrecht, Iowa State Patrol
  • Trooper James Bullington, Iowa State Patrol
  • Trooper Wade Major #49, Iowa State Patrol
  • Trooper Rob Battles, Iowa State Patrol
  • Alan Haubrich (Retired), Cerro Gordo County Sheriff’s Office
  • Dubuque County Sheriff’s Office
  • Chief John Coulter, Afton Police Department
  • Muscatine County Sheriff’s Office
  • Editor Barbara Wallace Hughes, Fort Dodge Messenger

Sergeant Martin McCreedy of the Iowa State Patrol was presented with the Kipton Hayward Award for his efforts in increasing compliance with impaired driving laws and reducing traffic related deaths and injuries.  The award is named in honor of the late Polk County Deputy Kip Hayward who was killed by an impaired driver while working to remove another impaired driver from the road. 

Other law enforcement officers recognized for their efforts in apprehending impaired drivers include:

  • Officer Dan Plueger, Le Mars Police Department
  • Officer Allen Ludeking, Decorah Police Department
  • Detective Paul Batcheller, Iowa City Police Department
  • Deputy Ben Bartholomew, Cass County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Colin Boone, Des Moines Police Department

For questions, please contact the Iowa Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau
215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, IA  50319-0248
Phone 515-725-6123, FAX 515-725-6133,



Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.