Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319


For immediate release: Alex Murphy
  Public Information Officer
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Thursday, March 21, 2013
(515) 443-3014 - cell
(515) 725-6189 - office

Traffic Safety Efforts Recognized at Annual Meeting

Altoona, IOWA --- Traffic safety professionals gathered at the Meadows Events and Conference Center on March 19th and 20th for the annual Governor’s Highway Traffic Safety Conference.  Over 250 people heard presentations on crash reduction efforts, speed enforcement, new federal highway safety directives, mental health issues and traffic safety, commercial vehicle enforcement, and traffic safety issues for youth.

During the event, outstanding traffic safety efforts were recognized with awards presented by Iowa Public Safety Commissioner Brian London. Commissioner’s Special Awards for Traffic Safety were presented to:

  • Sergeant Paul Batcheller, Iowa City Police Department
  • Kevin Blanshan, Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments
  • James Bleskacek, Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation Laboratory
  • Jack Latterell, Safety Engineering Consultant
  • Major Tim Leinen, Iowa State Patrol
  • Tom McDonald, Iowa State University Institute for Transportation
  • Officer Samuel Miller, Davenport Police Department
  • Senior Police Officer Christopher Mock, Des Moines Police Department
  • Trooper Durk Pearston, Iowa State Patrol
  • David Porter, Assistant Polk County Attorney
  • Trooper Nate Snieder, Iowa State Patrol
  • Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Trooper Tyson Underwood, Iowa State Patrol
  • Randy Will, Webster County Engineer
  • Norwalk Fire Department

Officer Mike Dixson of the Des Moines Police Department was presented with the Kipton Hayward Award for his efforts in removing impaired drivers from our roads and reducing traffic related deaths and injuries.  The award is named in honor of the late Kip Hayward who was killed by an impaired driver during a traffic stop with another impaired driver.  Trooper Brian Moses of the Iowa State Patrol was recognized as Class Valedictorian of a recent Drug Recognition Expert certification training.  Other law enforcement officers recognized for their efforts in apprehending impaired drivers were:

  • Deputy Benjamin Bartholomew, Cass County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Colin Boone, Des Moines Police Department
  • Officer Jeremy Bossard, Iowa City Police Department
  • Trooper Marc Griggs, Iowa State Patrol
  • Deputy Caleb Haverdink, Sioux County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Allen Ludeking, Decorah Police Department
  • Patrolman Dan Plueger, Le Mars Police Department
  • Officer Brad Walter, Waterloo Police Department

For questions, please contact the Iowa Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau
215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, IA  50319-0248
Phone 515-725-6123
FAX 515-725-6133



Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.