Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release: Alex Murphy
  Public Information Officer
Investigative Operations
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Wednesday, May 8, 2013
(515) 443-3014 - cell
(515) 725-6189 - office


Des Moines, IOWA --- This Friday, the State of Iowa will honor three officers who died in the line of duty: Stuart Police Department Chief Robert Smith, Motor Vehicle Enforcement Officer Philip J. Adams, and Floyd County Deputy Levi Bowers.  Each of these men died as a result of their efforts to secure Iowa communities.

Please join us on Friday, May 10, 2013 to honor these peace officers as well as the 166 other Iowa officers who gave their life in the line of duty over the last 140 years.


Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony




Friday, May 10, 2013
10:00 AM




Peace Officer Memorial
Oran Pape State Office Building
215 E. 7th St.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(Rain Location: State Capitol Rotunda)
*Please note the new location. Over the summer of 2012, the monument was moved from the Lucas Building to the Oran Pape Building.




Governor Terry E. Branstad
Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds
Commissioner Brian London
Officers from Local, County, and State Law Enforcement Agencies

If you are unable to attend this year's ceremony, we remind you there are many ways you can observe National Police Week.  Please take time and thank current peace officers for protecting and serving your community and the great State of Iowa.



Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.