Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release: Alex Murphy
  Public Information Officer
Investigative Operations
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Friday, November 1, 2013
(515) 443-3014 - cell
(515) 725-6189 - office

Eleven of Iowa's Finest Peace Officers and Firefighters will be Presented the Sullivan Brothers Award of Valor

Des Moines, IOWA --  Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds are pleased to honor eleven Iowa police officers and firefighters with the 2013 Sullivan Brother’s Award of Valor.

Every day, men and women in uniform quietly serve, sacrificing their safety to keep our Iowa communities secure. The Sullivan Brother’s Award of Valor is awarded to peace officers and firefighters who, while serving in an official capacity, distinguished themselves by the performance of a heroic act in excess of normal demands of police or fire service where the person was fully aware of the threat to his or her personal safety. This year, Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds will honor the following professionals with the Sullivan Brother’s Award of Valor:
  • Captain Steven Henry – Iowa Falls Fire Department
  • Captain Jason Barrick – Iowa Falls Fire Department
  • Firefighter Tyler Prochaska – Iowa Falls Fire Department
  • Firefighter Jon Linn – Iowa Falls Fire Department
  • Deputy Jeremy Burdess – Jasper County Sheriff’s Department
  • Officer Adam Herman – Newton Police Department
  • Officer Joe Bartello – Baxter Police Department
  • Officer Zac McDowell – Urbandale Police Department
  • Trooper Mark Domino – Iowa State Patrol
  • Motor Vehicle Officer Benjamin Driscoll – Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Chief Dennis Cain – Sumner Police Department

The award ceremony will be held on November 5, 2013, beginning at 1:00p.m. in the first floor rotunda of the State Capitol in Des Moines.

If you have any questions, please contact Sergeant Scott Bright at 515-745-2863.


Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.