Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release: Alex Murphy
  Public Information Officer
Investigative Operations
Iowa Department of Public Safety
May 4, 2015
(515) 443-3014 - cell
(515) 725-6189 - office

Four Fallen Officers to be added to Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

DES MOINES, Iowa --- This Friday, Governor Terry E. Branstad, Lt. Governor Kim K. Reynolds and the state of Iowa will honor four officers killed in the line of duty.  Each of these men died while serving to protect and keep Iowa communities safe.

Please join us on Friday, May 8, 2015, to honor these fallen peace officers, as well as the many other Iowa officers who have given their lives in the line of duty over the years.


Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony




Friday, May 8, 2015
10:00 AM




Peace Officer Memorial
Oran Pape State Office Building
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(Rain Location: State Capitol rotunda)

Police Officer Marion Albert “Bert” Conrey, Knoxville Police Department, E.O.W. April 2, 1938

Police Officer Everett Luke Dutcher, Cedar Falls Police Department, E.O.W. July 31, 1945

Special Deputy Claude B. Dail, Pottawattamie County Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. August 25, 1932

Deputy Marshal Richard Lansing Eggleston, Osceola Police Department, E.O.W. November 22, 1917

If you are unable to attend this year's ceremony, we remind you there are many ways you can observe National Police Week, during May 10-16, 2015.  Please take time and thank current peace officers for protecting and serving your community and the great State of Iowa.

Any further questions, please contact Sergeant Nathan Ludwig, Iowa State Patrol, PIO (515) 745-2863.



Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.