Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release:  
May 3, 2017  

Four Fallen Officers to be Added
to Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

DES MOINES, Iowa -- This Friday, Governor Terry E. Branstad, Lt. Governor Kim K. Reynolds, and the State of Iowa will honor four officers killed in the line of duty.  Each of these men died while serving to protect and keep Iowa communities safe.

Please join us on Friday, May 5, 2017, to honor these fallen peace officers, as well as the many other Iowa officers who have given their lives in the line of duty over the years.


Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony




Friday, May 5, 2017
10:00 AM




Peace Officer Memorial
Oran Pape State Office Building
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(Rain Location: State Capitol Rotunda)

Special Agent Thomas P. Griffin, Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad, E.O.W. November 15, 1923

Sergeant Shawn Glenn Miller, West Des Moines Police Department, E.O.W. August 3, 2016

Police Officer Justin Scott Martin, Urbandale Police Department, E.O.W. November 2, 2016

Sergeant Anthony David Beminio, Des Moines Police Department, E.O.W. November 2, 2016

If you are unable to attend this year's ceremony, we remind you there are many ways you can observe National Police Week, during May 15-21, 2017.  Please take time and thank current peace officers for protecting and serving your community and the great State of Iowa.

Families have asked for the media to respect their privacy before, during and after the POM event and they will not be participating in any interviews.

Any further questions, please contact:  Sergeant Scott Bright, Iowa State Patrol, Public Information Officer at (515) 218-0108.

Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.