Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release:  
May 8, 2018  

Six Fallen Officers to be Honored
at Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

DES MOINES, Iowa --This Friday, Governor Kim K. Reynolds and the State of Iowa will honor six officers killed in the line of duty.  Each of these men died while serving to protect and keep Iowa communities safe.

Please join us on Friday, May 11, 2018, to honor these fallen peace officers, as well as the many other Iowa officers who have given their lives in the line of duty over the years.


Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony




Friday, May 11, 2018
10:00 AM




Peace Officer Memorial
Oran Pape State Office Building
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(Rain Location: State Capitol Rotunda)

Special Officer Timothy O’Brien – Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, E.O.W. October 2, 1893
Special Officer Charles E. Crill – Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, E.O.W. March 17, 1917
Deputy William A. Maxwell – Plymouth Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. November 16, 1919
Deputy Robert McKinley – Pottawattamie Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. March 13, 1947
Officer William E. Hickman – Indianola Police Department, E.O.W. December 6, 1957
Deputy Mark Burbridge – Pottawattamie Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. May 1, 2017

If you are unable to attend this year’s ceremony, we remind you there are many ways you can observe National Police Week, during May 13-19, 2018. Please take time and thank current and retired peace officers for protecting and serving your community and the great State of Iowa.

Any further questions, please contact: Sergeant Nathan Ludwig, Iowa State Patrol, Public Information Officer at (515) 745-2863.

Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.