Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release:  
May 11, 2018  

Weather Forces Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony to be held in Capitol Rotunda

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Due to inclement weather, the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony will be held indoors at the State Capitol Rotunda this morning at 10:00AM. Parking is available in the parking lot on the east side of the Capitol building.

The following officers will be honored at today’s ceremony:

Special Officer Timothy O’Brien – Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, E.O.W. October 2, 1893
Special Officer Charles E. Crill – Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, E.O.W. March 17, 1917
Deputy William A. Maxwell – Plymouth Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. November 16, 1919
Deputy Robert McKinley – Pottawattamie Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. March 13, 1947
Officer William E. Hickman – Indianola Police Department, E.O.W. December 6, 1957
Deputy Mark Burbridge – Pottawattamie Co. Sheriff’s Office, E.O.W. May 1, 2017

Any further questions, please contact: Sergeant Nathan Ludwig, Iowa State Patrol, Public Information Officer at (515) 745-2863.

Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.