DPS Logo

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
www.dps.state.ia.us

ISP Logo

For immediate release:
Media Contact:
 
Sergeant Vince Kurtz #495
 
Public Resource Officer
 
kurtz@dps.state.ia.us
 
Twitter @TrooperKurtz
February 13, 2019  


Iowa State Patrol to Partner with Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division for Tobacco, Alternative Nicotine and Vapor Product Education and Enforcement


SPENCER, Iowa -- The Iowa State Patrol has taken a pledge to keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of youth.

Known as I-PLEDGE, the program is a partnership with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) to educate local retailers and to enforce Iowa’s tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product laws. Since the program’s inception in 2000, the statewide tobacco compliance rate has grown to 91%. By participating in the program, the Iowa State Patrol has committed to do its part to increase the compliance rate even more this year.

I-PLEDGE places emphasis on retailer training. Clerks who successfully complete and online training course and then pass an exam will become I-PLEDGE certified. This allows a retail establishment to use an affirmative defense against a civil penalty if the certified clerk makes and illegal sale.

“I-PLEDGE’s retailer training is a great way for clerks to prepare themselves to refuse illegal tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor product sales,” Sgt. Chase Hesse said. “The training also assists retailers to ensure they maintain a compliant and responsible establishment.”

Troopers will also be conducting compliance checks on local establishments as part of the I-PLEDGE program. Underage customers, under the supervision of law enforcement officials, will enter establishments and attempt to buy tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products. Clerks who make the illegal sale will be cited on the spot.

Criminal penalties for selling tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products to a minor include a $100 fine for first offense, a $250 fine for a second offense and a $500 fine for third and subsequent offenses. However, handing out citations is not the intent of the I-PLEDGE program.

“By partnering with the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Division, we hope to educate clerks and maintain a compliant retail environment in our community,” Sgt. Hesse said. “Moreover, we pledge to help keep tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products out of the hands of Iowa’s youth.”

To take the I-PLEDGE training or search certification records go to https://abd.iowa.gov/.

###

 

                                                                     Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to https://dpsemailnotify.iowa.gov and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.