DPS Logo

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release:
Media Contact:
Debbie McClung
  Strategic Communications Bureau Chief
August 30, 2019



Iowa State Patrol Announces New
Public Information Officer

DES MOINES, Iowa -- The Iowa State Patrol is proud to announce the promotion of Trooper Alex Dinkla to the rank of Sergeant, Public Information Officer.  This promotion was announced earlier today and will take effect immediately.  Former Public Information Officer, Sergeant Nathan Ludwig was recently promoted to the rank of Lieutenant, and will now serve as District Commander of the Post 1 Office located at 260 N.W. 48th Place in Des Moines.

Sergeant Dinkla can be reached at 515-443-6644 or dinkla@dps.state.ia.us   Please reach out to Sergeant Dinkla for any open records, media requests, or general Iowa State Patrol inquiries.




The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.


                                                                     Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to https://dpsemailnotify.iowa.gov and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.