Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

ISP Logo

For immediate release:
Special Agent in Charge Darrell Simmons
  Division of Criminal Investigation

September 3, 2019


Authorities Search for Missing Remsen Female UPDATE

REMSEN, Iowa --
At or about 12:30 PM on September 3, 2019, NICOLE TROMETER contacted Iowa Law Enforcement Officials and advised she was in Vermont.  Law Enforcement requested she go to the nearest Law Enforcement Agency and positively identify herself.  As of 1:20 PM, The Franklin County Sheriff’s Office in Vermont confirmed that they spoke with NICOLE TROMETER and positively identified her by her Iowa Driver’s License.  Franklin County authorities advised NICOLE was in good health, NICOLE told Vermont authorities she traveled with DANIEL KITTREDGE willingly to Vermont. At this time the missing person’s investigation will be closed.

Previous Press Release - 09/02/2019

The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

                                                                            Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.