Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

For immediate release:
Media Contact:
Special Agent in Charge Richard Rahn
October 8, 2019
Des Moines, Iowa


Authorities Seek Information in
Henry County Investigation

WAYLAND, Iowa --
On August 09, 2019, the Henry County Sheriff’s Office reported finding a deceased female in a farm field west of Wayland, Iowa.  On August 12, 2019, it was reported that the person in question was Brandy Mae Shepherd-Margita, 29, of Anamosa, Iowa. 

An update to the case is that the Iowa State Medical Examiner has determined that the manner and cause of death for Ms. Shepherd-Margita is undetermined.  Toxicology testing continues.

The Henry County Sheriff’s Office is working the case with the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation.  Both agencies continue to work all leads developed as part of the investigation.  Both agencies encourage anybody with information about the investigation into the death of Ms. Shepherd-Margita to call with the information.

The Henry County Sheriff’s Office may be contacted at 319.385.2712.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

                                                                            Facebook        Twitter

To enroll in the DPS E-mail Notification system simply log on to and follow the instructions to enroll as a new user.