Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Telephone Number: (515) 725-6182

ISP Logo

For immediate release: For more information contact
Thursday, December 22, 2016 - 10:00 AM Major Mike Winter
Des Moines, Iowa (515) 725-6109

Trooper II - 11 Openings

These positions are open to all qualified personnel. Anyone interested should have a transfer request on file no later than Thursday, January 5, 2017.

If you have interest in more than one vacancy, please use one DPS Request Form and have your selections listed by priority.

The Iowa State Patrol has the following openings for Trooper II:

  • Post 5: Buena Vista County
  • Post 6: Palo Alto County
  • Post 9: Hardin County
  • Post 8: Worth County
  • Post 8: Chickasaw County
  • Post 8: Floyd County
  • Post 11: Tama County
  • Post 3: Fremont County
  • Post 7: Wright County
  • Post 4: Guthrie County
  • Post 3: Cass County

This posting will expire at 4:30 PM, Thursday, January 5, 2017.


Please refer to Departmental Rules & Regulations and the current Collective Bargaining Agreement for proper transfer procedures.

At the present time, any open positions are available only to individuals currently employed by the Department of Public Safety for transfer only.

The posting of these vacancies complies with the 2016-2017 Bargaining Unit Agreement, Public Safety Unit, Article 7, between the State of Iowa and the State Police Officers Council.

Please use the link below to obtain a Transfer Request Form

***Transfer Requests must be received in WORD format***

Word for Windows 6.0