Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Telephone Number: (515) 725-6182

ISP Logo


For immediate release: For more information contact
Monday, April 30 - 4:00 PM Captain Robert Hansen
Des Moines, Iowa (515) 418-4701

Trooper II - Openings/Vacancies in 17 Counties

These positions are open to all qualified personnel seeking lateral transfer. Anyone interested should have a transfer request on file no later than Monday, May 14, 2018, at 4:30 PM.

If you have interest in more than one vacancy, please use one DPS Request Form and have your selections listed by priority.

The Iowa State Patrol has the following openings for Trooper II's:

  • Jasper County

  • Decatur County

  • Marshall County

  • Sac County

  • Harrison County

  • Pottawattamie County

  • Monona County

  • Kossuth County

  • Winnebago County

  • Hancock County

  • Hardin County

  • Dubuque County

  • Delaware County

  • Johnson County

  • Cedar County

  • Scott County

  • Lee County

This posting will expire at 4:30 PM, May 14, 2018.


Please refer to Departmental Rules & Regulations and the current Collective Bargaining Agreement for proper transfer procedures.

At the present time, any open positions are available only to individuals currently employed by the Department of Public Safety for transfer only.

The posting of these vacancies complies with the 2017-2019 Bargaining Unit Agreement, Public Safety Unit, Article 7, between the State of Iowa and the State Police Officers Council.

Please use the links below to obtain a Transfer Request Form

Word for Windows 6.0