Iowa Department of Public Safety State Fire Marshal Division
Search WWW Search DPS Website

State Fire Marshal Division

Join Our Team

Consumer Fireworks Safety & Recall Information

Information on Consumer Fireworks Licensing

Licensed Consumer Fireworks Sites-FINAL 07/10/2017

The State Fire Marshal Division (SFM), established in 1911, is the oldest of the six divisions within the Department of Public Safety. SFM was initially created to collect statistics on fire in Iowa and to develop fire safety regulations. Through promotion and enforcement of fire safety regulations, building code provisions and arson investigation, the five bureaus which comprise this division continue to have responsibility for reducing the loss of life and property by fire. Presently the Division has 28 sworn officers and 41 civilian employees.

The division is comprised of five (5) bureaus:

Follow us on Social Media:Instagram Iowa_SFM Facebook Iowa State Fire Marshal Division Twitter @IowaSFM

Smoke Tip

NFPA free access

Smoke Detector Resources NASFM Life Safety Product Recalls



Iowa Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal Division
215 East 7th Street | Des Moines, Iowa 50319 | 515-725-6145

Policies | Contact Us | Site Map
Adobe Reader | Adobe Flash