Iowa Department of Public Safety State Fire Marshal Division
Search WWW Search DPS Website
State Fire Marshal Header

newRENEWAL for Fire Alarm System Contractors & Installers Application
newElectronic Security Association 'Certified Fire Alarm Designer' Approved
new2014 NEC Code Adoption Public Hearing August 12, 2014

NOTICE: Nest Lab recall/repair of Nest Protect Smoke + CO Alarms
NOTICE: Lithonia Lighting Recalls Emergency Lights Due to Fire Hazard

State Fire Marshal Forms
Iowa State Building Code Bureau Adopted Codes
Fiscal Year 2012/2013 Statistics

Division of the State Fire Marshal

The State Fire Marshal Division (SFM), established in 1911, is the oldest of the five divisions within the Department of Public Safety. SFM was created to collect statistics on fire in Iowa and to develop fire safety regulations. Through promotion and enforcement of fire safety regulations, building code provisions and arson investigation, the five bureaus which comprise this division continue to have responsibility for reducing the loss of life and property by fire. Presently the Division has 26 sworn officers and 44 civilian employees.

The division is comprised of five (5) bureaus:


Iowa Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal Division
215 East 7th Street | Des Moines, Iowa 50319 | 515-725-6145

Policies | Contact Us | Site Map
Adobe Reader | Adobe Flash