Iowa Department of Public Safety State Fire Marshal Division
Search WWW Search DPS Website

Iowa Counties Under Open Burning Bans
Click on any Iowa County to view details on the burning ban in that county.

For specific questions about a burning ban in your community, please contact your local fire department.

Burning Bans Wayne County Davis County Lee County Lucas County Appanoose County Monroe County Decatur County Clarke County Fremont County Union County Page County Adams County Taylor County Montgomery County Des Moines County Mills County Ringgold County Wapello County Van Buren County Henry County Jefferson County Louisa County Muscatine County Cedar County Pottawattamie County Cass County Adair County Madison County Warren County Marion County Mahaska County Keokuk County Washington County Scott County Jones County Harrison County Shelby County Audubon County Guthrie County Dallas County Polk County Jasper County Poweshiek County Iowa County Johnson County Jackson County Lyon County Linn County Benton County Tama County Marshall County Story County Boone County Greene County Carroll County Crawford County Monona County Dubuque County Delaware County Hardin County Plymouth County Clayton County Humboldt County Floyd County Bremer County Hamilton County Howard County Palo Alto County Webster County Black Hawk County Hancock County Sioux County Buchanan County Clinton County Emmet County O'Brien County Grundy County Winnshiek County Chickasaw County Fayette County Kossuth County Sac County Butler County Osceola County Worth County Allamakee County Cherokee County Franklin Colunty Wright County Pocahontas County Calhoun County Dickinson County Mitchell County Clay County Woodbury County Winnebago County Ida County Buena Vista County Cerro Gordo County Winneshiek County


Effective Date and Time of Ban

Ban Rescinded (Effective Date and Time)

Ban Requested or Lifted by

Adair County




Adams County




Allamakee County




Appanoose County

04/01/14 @ 0800


Mike Lamb
Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Audubon County      
Benton County




Black Hawk County




Boone County




Bremer County




Buchanan County




Buena Vista County




Butler County




Calhoun County      
Carroll County




Cass County




Cedar County




Cerro Gordo County




Cherokee County




Chickasaw County




Clarke County

04/10/14 @ 1000


Allan Mathias Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Clay County




Clayton County




Clinton County      
Crawford County




Dallas County




Davis County




Decatur County




Delaware County




Des Moines County

04/12/14 @ 0800


Andy Kerr
Mediapolis Asst Fire Chief

Dickinson County




Dubuque County




Emmet County




Fayette County




Floyd County




Franklin County




Fremont County

03/18/14 @ 1000

04/14/14 @ 1200

Mike Crecelius
Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Greene County      
Grundy County




Guthrie County




Hamilton County




Hancock County




Hardin County




Harrison County




Henry County




Howard County




Humboldt County




Ida County




Iowa County




Jackson County

04/08/14 @ 0800

04/16/14 @ 1200

Lyn Medinger Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Jasper County




Jefferson County




Johnson County

04/10/14 @ 1200

04/17/14 @0900

Mark Espe
Jefferson-Monroe Fire Chief

Jones County




Keokuk County




Kossuth County




Lee County

04/10/14 @ 1300


Neal Gathers Denmark Fire Chief

Linn County




Louisa County      
Lucas County




Lyon County




Madison County




Mahaska County




Marion County

04/08/14 @ 1000

04/14/14 @ 1100

Jeff Anderson Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Marshall County




Mills County

03/19/14 @ 1400


Larry Hurst Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Mitchell County




Monona County

04/10/14 @ 1300


Randy Ross Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Monroe County

04/10/14 @ 1100

04/18/14 @ 1000

Mike Gray
Albia Fire Chief

Montgomery County

03/19/14 @ 0800

04/18/14 @ 0800

Brian Hamman Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Muscatine County      
O’Brien County




Osceola County




Page County

03/19/14 @ 0800


Rodney Riley Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Palo Alto County




Plymouth County




Pocahontas County




Polk County




Pottawattamie County

03/19/14 @ 0800

04/14/14 @ 1700

Doug Reed Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Poweshiek County




Ringgold County




Sac County




Scott County 04/09/14 @ 1800

04/16/14 @ 1800

Ross Bergen Emergency Mgmt Coordinator

Shelby County      
Sioux County      
Story County      
Tama County      
Taylor County      
Tiffin Fire District      
Union County      
Van Buren County      
Wapello County      
Warren County      
Washington County      
Wayne County      
Webster County      
Winnebago County      
Winneshiek County      
Woodbury County      
Worth County      
Wright County      



Iowa Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal Division
215 East 7th Street | Des Moines, Iowa 50319 | 515-725-6145

Policies | Contact Us | Site Map
Adobe Reader | Adobe Flash