Iowa Department of Public Safety Public Information Bureau


Administrative Rules

Awards and Recognitions

Crash Reports

Public Information & Media Relations

Criminal History Records

Regulatory Assistance

Road Conditions

Sex Offender Registry

Submit Compliments, Complaints

Weapons Permits

Electrical Licensing and Inspection

Search WWW Search DPS Website

Overview of the
Iowa Department of Public Safety


  • Reduce preventable injuries and deaths
  • Suppress criminal activity
  • Reduce/minimize costs of compliance with government requirements
  • Promote integrity and excellence in the workforce

2012-2014 Strategic Plan


Iowa continues to be a safe and prosperous place.



To serve the people of Iowa by providing public safety services with leadership, integrity and professionalism. 


Guiding Principles, Core Values:

  • Courtesy
  • Service
  • Protection
  • Integrity
  • Professionalism

Past Commissioners

Karl W. Fisher, 1939-1944
R.B. Laird (Acting), 1943-1944
Fred L. Wilkins, 1945-1947
Alfred W. Kahl, 1947-1950
Pearl W. McMurray, 1950-1955
Clinton H. Moyer, 1955-1957
Russell L. Brown, 1957-1959
Donald L. Stratton, 1959-1961
Carl H. Pesch, 1961-1963
William F. Suppel, 1963-1966
Gene Needles, 1966-1967
Jack Fulton, 1967-1971
Michael Sellers, 1971-1973
Charles W. Larson, 1973-1979
William D. Miller, 1980-1983
Gene W. Shepard, 1983-1989
Paul H. Wieck II, 1990-1999
E.A. "Penny" Westfall, 1999-2002
Kevin W. Techau, 2002 - 2007
Eugene T. Meyer, 2007 - 2011
Larry L. Noble, 2011 - 2012
K. Brian London, 2012-2013
Larry L. Noble 2013-2015
Roxann M. Ryan 2015-2019






Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 East 7th Street | Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Copyright Notice | Policies | Contact Us | Site Map
Adobe Reader | Adobe Flash